Escuela R. - copia

Costa Rica is a country located in Central America south of Nicaragua and north of Panama. The Atlantic Ocean is on the east and the Pacific Ocean on the west meaning Costa Rica is lined with beautiful beaches. There are two main seasons in Costa Rica: rainy (sunny mornings, some rain on most afternoons; May through November) and dry (warm and sunny, occasional rain; December through April).

Around five million people live in the 19,730sq miles that is Costa Rica. The country is divided into seven provinces: San José, Alajuela, Heredia, Cartago, Puntarenas, Guanacaste, and Limon. Although the country is small and it covers only 0.03 % of the surface of the globe, it proudly shelters  6% of the existing biodiversity in the entire world. 25.6% of the country is composed of conservation and natural protected territory.

Costa Rica is a democratic and peaceful country that abolished the army 1949. The political system is represented by three powers: the Executive Power, the Legislative Power and the Judicial Power. The Elections Supreme Court is considered the fourth power of the Republic. Every four years national elections are carried out. Among other positions of popular representation, the President of the Republic is elected through direct representation by secret ballot.